Rolling Stone South Africa / Thu, 26 Jul 2012 23:41:47 +0000 FeedCreator 1.7.3 /images/ Rolling Stone South Africa / Computer Virus Might Be Blasting AC/DC In Iranian Nuclear Facility /musicrev/item/1224-computer-virus-might-be-blasting-acdc-in-iranian-nuclear-facility /musicrev/item/1224-computer-virus-might-be-blasting-acdc-in-iranian-nuclear-facility computer-virus-might-be-blasting-acdc-in-iranian-nuclear-facility

'Thunderstruck' mysteriously played at max volume in the middle of the night

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 18:35:50 +0000
'Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols' Gets 35th Anniversary Box Set /musicrev/item/1223-never-mind-the-bollocks-heres-the-sex-pistols-gets-35th-anniversary-box-set /musicrev/item/1223-never-mind-the-bollocks-heres-the-sex-pistols-gets-35th-anniversary-box-set never-mind-the-bollocks-heres-the-sex-pistols-gets-35th-anniversary-box-set

Limited edition collection contains 3 CDs and a live DVD

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 16:46:52 +0000
Ice-T Argues Against Gun Control /musicrev/item/1222-ice-t-argues-against-gun-control /musicrev/item/1222-ice-t-argues-against-gun-control ice-t-argues-against-gun-control

'That's the last form of defense against tyranny'

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 14:10:38 +0000
Christian Bale Visits 'Dark Knight Rises' Shooting Victims /mtvrev/item/1221-christian-bale-visits-dark-knight-rises-shooting-victims /mtvrev/item/1221-christian-bale-visits-dark-knight-rises-shooting-victims christian-bale-visits-dark-knight-rises-shooting-victims

Star flew to Aurora to meet with hospital patients and response workers

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 10:24:41 +0000
Cast of 'Modern Family' Sues 20th Century Fox Television /mtvrev/item/1220-cast-of-modern-family-sues-20th-century-fox-television /mtvrev/item/1220-cast-of-modern-family-sues-20th-century-fox-television cast-of-modern-family-sues-20th-century-fox-television

Six actors disputing contracts

]]>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 22:15:41 +0000
Rolling Stone Demo's Google Hangout with Jack Parow and Oppikoppi /videosrev/item/1216-rolling-stone-demos-google-hangout-with-jack-parow-and-oppikoppi /videosrev/item/1216-rolling-stone-demos-google-hangout-with-jack-parow-and-oppikoppi rolling-stone-demos-google-hangout-with-jack-parow-and-oppikoppi

Rolling Stone met up with Jack Parow in Cape Town and Oppikoppi organiser, Misha Loots in Johannesburg, via Google Hangout to demo Google's new multi-video interactive chat interface. The chat was streamed live on invitation and then published on Oppikoppi's Youtube channel.

Rolling Stone chatted with Parow about his upcoming show at Oppikoppi SweetThing, his recent tour to Russia, his own braaisous and his upcoming toy range.

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 11:32:59 +0000
Rolling Stone: The Doc John Story /musicrev/item/1215-rolling-stone-the-doc-john-story /musicrev/item/1215-rolling-stone-the-doc-john-story rolling-stone-the-doc-john-story

Local Blues icon to tell his story before a live audience

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 11:07:31 +0000
Q&A: John Kongos /opinion/item/1214-qaa-john-kongos /opinion/item/1214-qaa-john-kongos qaa-john-kongos

 'I keep threatening to make some more records now that I've almost grown up'

]]>
Wed, 18 Jul 2012 05:57:55 +0000
Video: Boy George Covers Lana Del Rey's 'Video Games' /musicrev/item/1213-video-boy-george-covers-lana-del-reys-video-games /musicrev/item/1213-video-boy-george-covers-lana-del-reys-video-games video-boy-george-covers-lana-del-reys-video-games

Loopy guitars soundtrack a British love tale

]]>
Wed, 25 Jul 2012 05:51:01 +0000
Warner Bros. Pledges 'Substantial' Donation to Colorado Shooting Victims /mtvrev/item/1212-warner-bros-pledges-substantial-donation-to-colorado-shooting-victims /mtvrev/item/1212-warner-bros-pledges-substantial-donation-to-colorado-shooting-victims warner-bros-pledges-substantial-donation-to-colorado-shooting-victims

Studio will contribute an unspecified lump sum

]]>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 16:00:19 +0000
Steven Van Zandt: 'Bruce Springsteen Is a Living Example of What Happens When You Never Do Drugs' /musicrev/item/1211-steven-van-zandt-bruce-springsteen-is-a-living-example-of-what-happens-when-you-never-do-drugs /musicrev/item/1211-steven-van-zandt-bruce-springsteen-is-a-living-example-of-what-happens-when-you-never-do-drugs steven-van-zandt-bruce-springsteen-is-a-living-example-of-what-happens-when-you-never-do-drugs

The E Street Band guitarist on breaking the four-hour barrier and the possibility of a new Springsteen LP

]]>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 15:30:28 +0000
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame to Honour Chuck Berry With 2012 American Music Masters Series /musicrev/item/1210-rock-and-roll-hall-of-fame-to-honour-chuck-berry-with-2012-american-music-masters-series /musicrev/item/1210-rock-and-roll-hall-of-fame-to-honour-chuck-berry-with-2012-american-music-masters-series rock-and-roll-hall-of-fame-to-honour-chuck-berry-with-2012-american-music-masters-series

Rock trailblazer will be focus of 17th installment

]]>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 14:05:05 +0000
Report: Mariah Carey Lands $18 Million 'American Idol' Paycheck /mtvrev/item/1209-report-mariah-carey-lands-18-million-american-idol-paycheck /mtvrev/item/1209-report-mariah-carey-lands-18-million-american-idol-paycheck report-mariah-carey-lands-18-million-american-idol-paycheck

Singer will be highest-earning judge on any music competition show

]]>
Tue, 24 Jul 2012 13:30:51 +0000
New Beatles Collection 'Tomorrow Never Knows' Hits iTunes /musicrev/item/1208-new-beatles-collection-tomorrow-never-knows-hits-itunes /musicrev/item/1208-new-beatles-collection-tomorrow-never-knows-hits-itunes new-beatles-collection-tomorrow-never-knows-hits-itunes

Read a note from Dave Grohl that will appear with the release

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:00:30 +0000
Q&A: Billy Joe Shaver on His Epic Career, Suicide Attempt and 2007 Waco Shooting Trial /musicrev/item/1207-qaa-billy-joe-shaver-on-his-epic-career-suicide-attempt-and-2007-waco-shooting-trial /musicrev/item/1207-qaa-billy-joe-shaver-on-his-epic-career-suicide-attempt-and-2007-waco-shooting-trial qaa-billy-joe-shaver-on-his-epic-career-suicide-attempt-and-2007-waco-shooting-trial

Outlaw country legend who counts Bob Dylan and Willie Nelson as huge fans reflects on his troubled past

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 18:30:51 +0000
Bruce Springsteen Battled Depression, Suicidal Thoughts in Early 1980s /musicrev/item/1206-bruce-springsteen-battled-depression-suicidal-thoughts-in-early-1980s /musicrev/item/1206-bruce-springsteen-battled-depression-suicidal-thoughts-in-early-1980s bruce-springsteen-battled-depression-suicidal-thoughts-in-early-1980s

'My issues weren't as obvious as drugs,' says Springsteen in New Yorker profile. 'They were quieter, [but] just as problematic'

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 15:10:47 +0000
Snoop Dogg to Release Reggae Album as Snoop Lion /musicrev/item/1205-snoop-dogg-to-release-reggae-album-as-snoop-lion /musicrev/item/1205-snoop-dogg-to-release-reggae-album-as-snoop-lion snoop-dogg-to-release-reggae-album-as-snoop-lion

First single 'La La La' available now, album 'Reincarnated' set to drop later this year

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 14:45:36 +0000
Linkin Park Head to South Africa in November /musicrev/item/1204-linkin-park-head-to-south-africa-in-november /musicrev/item/1204-linkin-park-head-to-south-africa-in-november linkin-park-head-to-south-africa-in-november

Special access for Linkin Park Underground members

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 13:13:32 +0000
Rolling Stone Chart Show 18/07/2012: Hip Hop Chart /opinion/item/1203-rolling-stone-chart-show-on-2-oceans-vibe-radio-ep-18-07-2012 /opinion/item/1203-rolling-stone-chart-show-on-2-oceans-vibe-radio-ep-18-07-2012 rolling-stone-chart-show-on-2-oceans-vibe-radio-ep-18-07-2012

 

The Rolling Stone Hip Hop Chart features HHP, Tumi, Youngsta & Reason, Die Antwoord and more

]]>
Wed, 18 Jul 2012 09:59:54 +0000
Missing Persons Report Filed for Katherine Jackson /musicrev/item/1202-missing-persons-report-filed-for-katherine-jackson /musicrev/item/1202-missing-persons-report-filed-for-katherine-jackson missing-persons-report-filed-for-katherine-jackson

Michael Jackson's children say they haven't heard from their grandmother in a week

]]>
Sun, 22 Jul 2012 16:15:21 +0000
Report: Usher's Stepson Taken Off Life Support /musicrev/item/1201-report-ushers-stepson-taken-off-life-support /musicrev/item/1201-report-ushers-stepson-taken-off-life-support report-ushers-stepson-taken-off-life-support

Eleven-year-old Kile Glover died of injuries sustained in a jet ski accident earlier this month

]]>
Sat, 21 Jul 2012 17:25:03 +0000
'Dark Knight' Director Christopher Nolan Calls Aurora Shooting 'Unbearably Savage' /mtvrev/item/1200-dark-knight-director-christopher-nolan-calls-aurora-shooting-unbearably-savage /mtvrev/item/1200-dark-knight-director-christopher-nolan-calls-aurora-shooting-unbearably-savage dark-knight-director-christopher-nolan-calls-aurora-shooting-unbearably-savage

Warner Bros. says it will not release box office numbers this weekend out of respect for victims

]]>
Sat, 21 Jul 2012 14:15:14 +0000
Real Music Wednesday: Shannon Hope /artists/item/1199-real-music-wednesday-shannon-hope /artists/item/1199-real-music-wednesday-shannon-hope real-music-wednesday-shannon-hope

There is still Hope, for all who may feel it's a losing game

]]>
Wed, 18 Jul 2012 20:00:00 +0000
Amy Winehouse - Love is a Losing Game /videosrev/item/1197-amy-winehouse-love-is-a-losing-game /videosrev/item/1197-amy-winehouse-love-is-a-losing-game amy-winehouse-love-is-a-losing-game

Amy Winehouse's body was found a year ago today, July 23, 2011. Investigation revealed she had likely died of alcohol poisoning - she was 27. Though she only officially released two studio albums - Frank (2003) and Back to Black (2006) - Winehouse was immensely popular, and achieved worldwide success with "Rehab" - the first single off Black. A posthumous album Lioness: Hidden Treasures was released in 2011. "Love is a Losing Game" is the fifth single from Back to Black, and was the last single to be released before her death.

]]>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 05:15:43 +0000
Hans Zimmer on 'Dark Knight Rises' Shooting: 'We're All Devastated' /mtvrev/item/1196-hans-zimmer-on-dark-knight-rises-shooting-were-all-devastated /mtvrev/item/1196-hans-zimmer-on-dark-knight-rises-shooting-were-all-devastated 'I just feel so incredibly sad for these people,' says composer

]]>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 17:40:12 +0000
Rick Ross Teams Up With Dr. Dre and Jay-Z for '3 Kings' /musicrev/item/1195-rick-ross-teams-up-with-dr-dre-and-jay-z-for-3-kings /musicrev/item/1195-rick-ross-teams-up-with-dr-dre-and-jay-z-for-3-kings rick-ross-teams-up-with-dr-dre-and-jay-z-for-3-kings

No need to watch the throne when you're already sitting on it

]]>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 15:20:02 +0000
Flea Releasing Solo EP, 'Helen Burns' /musicrev/item/1194-flea-releasing-solo-ep-helen-burns /musicrev/item/1194-flea-releasing-solo-ep-helen-burns flea-releasing-solo-ep-helen-burns

Chili Peppers bassist's set to benefit his Silverlake Conservatory

]]>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 14:05:14 +0000
Swizz Beatz May Still Be Implicated in Megaupload Case /musicrev/item/1193-swizz-beatz-may-still-be-implicated-in-megaupload-case /musicrev/item/1193-swizz-beatz-may-still-be-implicated-in-megaupload-case swizz-beatz-may-still-be-implicated-in-megaupload-case

Feds claim his role as CEO makes it legal for them to prosecute New Zealand-based company in the U.S.

]]>
Wed, 18 Jul 2012 21:15:26 +0000
Rolling Stone's 'The Story' Receives Overwhelmingly Positive Reaction /musicrev/item/1192-rolling-stones-the-story-receives-overwhelmingly-positive-reaction /musicrev/item/1192-rolling-stones-the-story-receives-overwhelmingly-positive-reaction rolling-stones-the-story-receives-overwhelmingly-positive-reaction

Inge Beckmann: 'Last night's Rolling Stone event rocked my world.'

]]>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 07:09:27 +0000
Real Music Wednesdays: Julian Redpath /artists/item/1190-real-music-wednesdays-julian-redpath /artists/item/1190-real-music-wednesdays-julian-redpath real-music-wednesdays-julian-redpath

One of the most intimate performances in the Puma Social Real Music Wednesday series to date.

]]>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 05:32:44 +0000